Simplified Seo »

Tuesday, 15 October 2013

Twitter now allows all of your followers to send you Direct Messages...



Power Twitter users know the annoying and slightly creepy feeling of having to follow-back a relatively unknown person, only in order to receive a Direct Message from him. Twitter has solved this issue for its users. You can now allow anyone who follows you to send you a DM without the need of mutual following now.
The option seems to have been rolled out in a hush-hush manner with no news from the micro-blogging website itself. The new option was spotted byPocket Lint.It was seen that you could check an option box that allows anyone who follows you to send you a Direct Message. The text under the option reads,“If you check this option, any Twitter user that follows you will be able to send you a DM, regardless of whether you decide to follow them back."

This seems to be a smooth new move on Twitter’s part and potentially one that will put an end to follow-back-for-information practice that some Twitter users put to action in a bid to score some followers. On the other hand, people who genuinely have information to share with you will be spared the embarrassment of having to send you an @ mention, asking you to follow back.
Having any of your followers send you Direct Messages, however, could be a slightly annoying prospect to. This will mean anyone can send you unsolicited, even spam-filled messages, only by following you. Twitter’s earlier concept of allowing only mutual followers to send each other private messages was a refreshingly different one since it meant that you could be certain you will be receiving messages only from people you explicitly trust. That said, the new system expands the possibility of you growing your network. Twitter should contemplate having two inboxes a la Facebook where you could get messages from mutual followers in one and other followers in the second.
The feature seems to have been added recently since it has not started appearing on all Twitter profiles yet. You will be able to discreetly toggle the option on or off from your settings menu on the website soon.
Post a Comment

Search This Blog